Newest Archives Contact Guestbook Profile Photos Host

2003-07-07

I had an awesome weekend. In Ottawa. I know, right?! Crazy. Friday night at the pub was surprisingly enjoyable, and then on Saturday I got to see Elvis Costello down at the Blues Festival, and that�s pretty much a guaranteed good time right there, isn�t it? Elvis Costello, dudes! He still kicks ass live, and he obligingly played a good sampler of his old standards along with his newer stuff. Believe it or not, this tiny, out-of-focus dot is the man himself playing �Pump It Up�:

Then I happened to catch the Sadies, out of Toronto, and HOLY CRAP they fucked shit up! They rocked as though rockin� was going out of style! If any of you have the slightest predilection for rockabilly, or surf rock, or bluegrass, or punk rock, and if you catch wind that the Sadies are playing anywhere near you, GO SEE THEM. You�ll thank me. They have an upright bass and a fiddle and a VIBRAPHONE, and they all wear suits on stage and play with cigarettes dangling from their lips. Need I say fucking more? I didn�t think so.

previous | next