Newest Archives Contact Guestbook Profile Photos Host

2003-06-12

Things aren�t looking so good. My sister has lost her job, again � she�s a welder [insert mandatory Flashdance joke here], and in the trades there�s either enough work to go around or there isn�t (it�s not like here in Government Land, where when things get slow we keep the hive buzzing by forming all sorts of committees and working groups and having �bilateral discussions� and commissioning reports and generally making much ado about nothing); and when there isn�t, people get laid off. It doesn�t help that she�s young, inexperienced, and female: she�s guaranteed to be first on the chopping block when cuts have to be made. So, this means that I�ll probably have to bail her out for a while again � she�s my sister, so I can�t exactly turn her out on the street, as much as I�d like to sometimes.

I�m glad I�ve already booked my non-refundable plane tickets to NYC for Canada Day, so I can�t be mature and cancel my plans to save money. Darn the luck. Guess I�ll just have to enjoy the hell out of myself, since it�s the last bit of vacation indulgence I�ll be taking for a while, by the looks of it.

previous | next