Newest Archives Contact Guestbook Profile Photos Host

2003-04-28

Well, Yorkshire wasn't as restful as might have been hoped. Haworth has a decent little party scene going on. After a full day of wandering the moors (during which I got rained on, in true Bronte style -- no signs of consumption yet, but I'm hopeful), I was invited by some friendly local blokes to come on an impromptu tour of Keighley's after-hours clubs. Most of them were thoroughly intolerable, of course, but being in the socially lubricated state that I was, I could have spent the evening in a locked utility closet and considered it a good bit of fun.

A locked utility closet seemed an even more inviting prospect the next day on the coach, as I was stuck behind a family who spent the entire six-hour journey shouting at each other, leading me to believe they were either deaf or making a concerted effort to become so. My wishes for a freak mechanical ejection of their seats were tragically unfulfilled.

Tomorrow I'm off to Paris. We'll see if the language barrier, such as it is, keeps me from misbehaving too badly.

previous | next