Newest Archives Contact Guestbook Profile Photos Host

2003-04-11

Stop the press! I�m not hung over! Not though any lack of commitment on my part, of course � my friend�s flight was at seven this morning, so staying out until last call wouldn�t have been the best course of action (it�s usually the course I choose, but that�s beside the point).

Here�s an odd bit of �celebrity� trivia for my Canadian readers: bizarrely, seated at the table next to us at the Manx were both Mike Duffy and Ralph Benmergui. I wouldn�t have pegged those two for drinking buddies, but I guess the Canadian media elite are such a small group they have to stick together in hopes that their individual scraps of fame merge and generate something resembling stardom. Anyway, the troupe of gibbering slatterns making up their entourage put up such a drunken din I spent half the evening glaring at them and the other half sniggering at their decision to swathe their middle-aged bottoms in leather pants. I hope Mikey, that arrogant jackass, didn�t think I was awestruck. That guy is one portly tub of lard. He looks like he lives on pork rinds dipped in Crisco. And I don�t know what Ralphie has been doing since his little variety show got cancelled so many years ago, but it must involve sleeping in dumpsters and using intravenous drugs, because dude, he looks HAGGARD.

previous | next