Newest Archives Contact Guestbook Profile Photos Host

2003-09-26

Dig the fanciness! Made me a shiny new template. Plus, I�m now hip, happening, and interactive: if you�ll look to the bottom of your screens, ladies and gentlemen, you�ll see a Comments feature. You may now inform me in style that I suck.

Speaking of sucking, yesterday�s workshop sucked so hard it nearly produced a black hole. The instructor was francophone, which would have been absolutely A-OK were it not for the fact that she had some genuine difficulty expressing herself in English. It was easier to understand her when she got frustrated and reverted back to French, because then at least she was grammatical. And I�m not sure if it was the language barrier or a massive stupid attack, but she actually � get this! � said the following: �Accommodation in the workplace is not only for employees with disabilities. It�s also for regular�you know�normal employees. OK, maybe that�s not the right word, but you know what I mean.� Why yes, brainvoid, I think I do.

That kind of PC snafu would be borderline offensive in any professional situation, but in a SENSITIVITY TRAINING COURSE it�s way over that line, and so laden with delicious irony that I nearly dropped my cripple-poking stick.

Naturally, I spent most of the course rolling my eyes and making �I think I�m giving-a-shit impaired� cracks; and I�m happy to report that my �sensitivity� has increased not a whit, despite the awesome persuasive power of a crappy PowerPoint presentation AND a painfully amateurish video.

previous | next