Newest Archives Contact Guestbook Profile Photos Host

2005-03-13

I had the kind of week at work that makes you dream fondly of being a forest ranger (seriously, what kind of qualifications would I need for that? Sitting in an isolated wooden shack in the uncharted depths of the wilderness without human contact for months on end sounds like heaven on earth), so, in view of enjoyment and relaxation, I took a day trip to Bournemouth yesterday. I strode intrepidly along majestic cliffs, taking in the inspiring panoramic views of Dorset�s undulating coastline�along with every other resident of England�s south, it seemed, and a few noisy French for good measure. This country is very populous. I miss being able to leave the city limits and forget that the human race even exists. In England, there are no city limits. The suburbs of Great Britain stretch all the way to Inverness. In order to go an entire hour without seeing another person, I�d have to hike to the remotest reaches of the Lake District, hide in a cave, and put on a blindfold.

Or visit any NHS facility on a Sunday. The hell? Do people not become ill on weekends in the UK? I don�t want to have to take a sick day from work simply because I am sick. Bother.

previous | next