Newest Archives Contact Guestbook Profile Photos Host

2005-07-14

I�m fairly excited about my trip to Belgium tomorrow, although I keep forgetting I�m going. Yesterday one of my colleagues asked me if I was looking forward to my holiday, and I said, �What? Oh, right! Woo, Belgium!� which came out sounding sarcastic even though I hadn�t meant it to. �Woo, Belgium� is just not a convincing phrase. �Woo� destinations are, like, Barcelona! Or Amsterdam! Woo! Yeah! �Belgium� just doesn�t have the same breathy air of decadence and excitement.

However, in certain contexts, the word �Belgium� is in fact very gratifying. For instance, a few minutes ago one of my directors asked me if I�d be minuting a task force meeting on Monday. I shook my head sadly. �Belgium,� I said. I like this as an excuse: just �Belgium� on its own, with no context. Belgium could be responsible for all manner of things! �Hey, Robin, how�s that report coming along?� �Well�you know. Belgium.� The word somehow conveys a sense of morose inevitability, yet at the same time remains vaguely ridiculous. Can Barcelona say that? I think not.

And a parting shot from Glenn: �Remember, Belgian kisses are just like French kisses, only with more phlegm.� Woo!

previous | next