Newest Archives Contact Guestbook Profile Photos Host

2004-08-03

Last night, while I was sitting in a pub, no fewer than three strange men stopped by my table, gave me a drink, and left. It was like an impromptu re-enactment of the adoration of the magi, only with more beer, and less, er, holiness. (And virginity. Ahem.) No real reason for this generosity was proffered by my benevolent beer fairies, although one of them mumbled something about �helping me study� (I was reading and taking notes on a book I�m meant to be reviewing). I have my doubts about the whole �more beer = improved scholarship� equation � I spent a lot of time in college, in fact, trying to prove that exact postulation, with no demonstrable positive result � but I�m not one to look a gift horse in the mouth, especially when it comes to free drinks.

I do wish that the generosity of the Mancunian population would extend to hard currency, however. I finally � FINALLY � have a bank account, but when I deposited my last cheques from the Canadian government, I was told they could take up to six weeks to clear. I hadn�t realized that Canada�s financial credibility was so dubiously regarded on the international market. Fuck. Also, I�ve yet to see a single cent for my work at the Bar from Hell, since they only pay via direct deposit, and although I finally have a bank account in which to deposit my meagre wages, apparently I�ve missed the cutoff date for the coming pay period: again, FUCK. I put this month�s rent on my credit card. Fuckity fuck fuck fuck!

But, at least I know that I will have money at some point, and I am starting to make a normal life for myself. I now possess the following: a regular doctor, a scheduled interview for a National Insurance Number, a library card, a phone line in my name, two Tupperware containers, one mug, and a bowl. Those last items are a promising initial investment towards eventually getting an apartment of my very own. I like my housemates fine, but one of them watches a lot of Formula One racing, and�well, that�s just not amenable to long-term cohabitation, you know?

previous | next