Newest Archives Contact Guestbook Profile Photos Host

2004-05-10

Filial reconnaissance continues apace: my father and I picked up where we left off, each trying to outdo each other in supercilious displays of intellectual hauteur; meanwhile my mom is just all-around nice. Good to know I picked the right side of the family to take after. Fortunately this isn�t the parents� first visit to Ottawa, so I�m not scrambling to assemble a non-stop roster of activities to keep them distracted from the underlying tedium of the city. They picked up on that pretty quickly, actually � I think it was only their third day here when they started saying, �Well, it�s pretty,� which is the pre-approved apologist line touted by everyone who has spent any time in Ottawa. Yes, if Ottawa were a woman, she�d be the one you�d describe as having �a great personality.�

They timed their visit right, anyway: yesterday was the true seasonal turning point, where I stopped complaining about the cold and started complaining about the heat. It was actually warm enough to spend a few minutes outside in a state of relative undress; and so I did, and typically, I got a sunburn. I�m like some delicate shade-seeking mushroom. To steal a line from Conan O�Brian, I�m genetically designed to live in a bog. I�m so pale there�s actually a paint shade named after me, right between �Eggshell� and �Alabaster�: �Robin�s-Ass White.�

previous | next