Newest Archives Contact Guestbook Profile Photos Host

2003-11-20

I got to talk to the Minister today! (Yeah, just because I work in the Minister�s office doesn�t mean there�s ever an actual Minister in the office as such.) She said, �How are you?� and then I put her call through to my boss. It was pretty exciting. I was a bit hazy on actual Minister-confronting etiquette � a friend of mine suggested that the proper address is �Your Glorious Excellency,� with a curtsy and no eye contact; but he�s from England and Ministers probably do things a wee bit differently over there.

Speaking of friends across the sea, remember that guy I made out with my first evening in Paris? Yeah, me neither. He remembers me, though: I just got an e-mail from him, expressing his sorrow that I never called him like I said I would. (Oh, are you supposed to call people you make out with dead drunk in taxicabs late at night in foreign cities? I must have missed that tip in my Lonely Planet guide.) Apparently he got my e-mail address from a friend of his who was in the bar that night. (Look at me, handing out my e-mail address to all and sundry! I�m going to get a reputation as an e-ho! �Why buy the domain when you can get the e-mail address for free,� as me old da used to say.) It is clear that Robin Smith is a big hit overseas. Anyway, I e-mailed him a few flirty tidbits in my mediocre French � it�s always handy to keep a lovelorn boy in every port, after all.

previous | next